Write This! – March’s SCBWI Writing Prompt

Every month, SCBWI provides a writing prompt for its members. The top entry is chosen to be featured in their monthly magazine.  Maybe it was the inspiration from the recent conference I attended, or maybe the connection I have with my pets, but I felt compelled to enter.

This month’s writing prompt was to convey the bond between a child and an animal in 100 words (or less). Here was my submission:

I told Dad I’d be brave for Oscar.

Every night, Oscar would lay by my pillow, his paws around my wrists. He’d purr until I fell asleep.

Now, he lay under fluorescent lights on a steel table, about to sleep forever.

“Time to say goodbye, Casey,” Dad’s whispered.

I leaned close to Oscar’s face, his clouded eyes focused on mine. I stroked his fur softly and sang “Three Blind Mice” one last time. As I pulled away, Oscar wrapped his paws around my wrist and lick my thumb. The tears fell, but my smile was the last thing he saw.

One thought on “Write This! – March’s SCBWI Writing Prompt

  1. Wow! What strong and caring feelings. I look at our pets and see a child in their faces. Always caring and giving of themselves. I wonder how my feeling will be when I have to experience the same. They are gifts from God to help us feel his love through them in our journey of life.

Leave a Reply

