Southern Breeze SpringMingle ’13

I have just come back from my very first writers’ conference, the SCBWI Southern Breeze SpringMingle, in Atlanta.  I was not sure what to expect, but it sure did exceed my expectations.  I met quite a few wonderful writers and had the chance to learn from the agent and editors.

I started off the weekend with a writer’s intensive with Nikki Grimes, an incredible talent.  She led us through writing novels in verse, something I was not familiar with prior to attending her workshop.  While I do not imagine that I will complete a novel using poetry, it was a great exercise in creativity and character development. I am a better writer from just being in her presence.

The rest of the weekend was filled with great sessions on editing, plot development and selling a manuscript.  The advice given by the four panel members was invaluable.   I did not know what I did not know until I listened to these experts.

My critique went better than I expected and was intimidated at first.  Once my critique started and I was not told that I was a hack, I relaxed and listened.  Hopefully my story will evolve into something published.

No matter where my writing career ends up, I am pleased with my conference experience.  I look forward to the next one in October in AL.  See you all there.

2 thoughts on “Southern Breeze SpringMingle ’13

    • Hey Olga. Glad to hear from you. Hope you are working on book. I am getting ready to submit the ninja story to agents and a handful of publishers. Wish me luck! I am also starting the editing process of the pirate story based on what Jill said. Having fun!

Leave a Reply

