Hang ups and roadblocks

Every so often, I get to a point in my story that has me stuck.  I read back through and like what I have done up to that point, but I soon realize the path I am on leads to a dead-end, a hang up, a roadblock.

Right now, I have reached such a hang up and I wonder how do I get from this point to the end of the story.  I have a clear vision of where I would like it to go, but the action and dialogue in the current scene have left my characters staring back at me from the typed page and saying “so what now, genius?”

I want to tell them that they are the ones that are telling me the story and it is not my fault they cannot figure it out.  They have my number, why don’t they just call me when they can come up with how to move it along.

I know, I know.  I am the one who is painting the picture and it may be time to strip away some of the paint and pick the brush back up.

As I write this, I feel like I am having a conversation with myself and telling me what I don’t want to hear.  “What you did right there stunk!”  That is what good friends do, right?

So, I am going to take my own advice, stop this conversation and start stripping away the paint.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

