First official critique with an editor

Today, I am sending out the first 19 pages of my manuscript and I am both excited and nervous. Last night, my wonderful wife sat down and used her Jedi editing ability and marked up the first four chapters – more than enough for my submission.

As I loaded the dishwasher and straightened up after the kids were asleep, I could hear the tapping of keys in the other room. I quickly finished up and hunkered down in the upstairs to protect my sanity from wondering what she was doing to my baby/first book. I was about to jump out of my skin.

A little later, she texted me to say that she would not get to the whole book in one sitting since she had her “eagle eyes” on.

Ahhhhh!

That was great but it had me trying to guess what she thought of the story. I finally went downstairs and worked on my one page summary for my submission. When she reached a good stopping point she let me know that I had a really great, creative story. She loved it!

I expected confetti to fall from the ceiling and horns to blow, but that did not happen. She went to bed and left me with my story, now all marked up with the red change tracker glowing back at me. At 1:15 am I finished going through the edits and it is ready.

She did such a incredible job and I know I am the luckiest budding writer in the world. Her amazing mind and eye for detail put a polish on the manuscript I could not have done on my own.

So, with that all being said, I will be mailing off the manuscript for review and will hear back at the Southern Breeze Spring Mingle next month.

Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

